Georgetown Cupcake

Image

I first knew about Georgetown Cupcake watching the TV Show, “DC Cupcakes” on TLC. Being a little obsessed with baking, I’ve always had rather high expectations on buying ‘baked goods’ as I did not want to buy something that I could make myself, or was something that did not require lots of skill. I’ve made countless batches of cupcakes, and have tried cupcakes from many different stores, but I would have to say Georgetown Cupcakes are the best cupcakes I’ve ever had.

Image

My family and I took a short vacation to DC and NYC just a year back, and I was determined to try the cupcakes from Georgetown Cupcake in Georgetown while in DC to see whether it was worth all the hype. Upon arrival, there was a huge line outside the store of about 50 people (the security guard said it was pretty normal). The store sure is like a tourist attraction in itself. My parents aren’t quite the sweet tooth like I am, so they just wandered around while my sister and I were in line. When we finally got into the shop and got 2 cupcakes. Red Velvet for myself and Cookies and Cream for my sister.

The cake was moist and fluffy, but the frosting, was what really sealed the deal for me. I’ve grown tired of the frostings that many bakeries to ice their cupcakes. The thick buttercream or cream cheese frostings, or worse, whipped cream. They’re usually way too sweet and dense. However, the frosting that Georgetown Cupcake uses is so different. The Cream Cheese Frosting is so light and airy, unlike all the other bakeries, and despite it being so light (which could possibly be due to folding in of some whipped cream), the cream cheese flavour does not lack.

The 5 days we stayed in DC, we never failed to drop by Georgetown Cupcake every night for some dessert. Even my parents enjoyed the cupcakes (which is very rare). After DC, when we traveled to NYC, we still went down to the Georgetown Cupcake in New York to have our cupcake fix. The red velvet, the mint cookies and cream, the lemon berry, salted caramel, key lime, even the gluten free cupcakes. Every single cupcake was deelish.

Image

Which is why I was thrilled when Georgetown Cupcake announced their new branch in Beverly Hills. I’ve gone down to the store a couple times to introduce my friends to their cupcakes and also to get some gifts, and whether in DC or NYC or LA, and the store is always clean, the service staff is great. I called in once for a phone order so I could just grab and go, and they were friendly and patient in helping me settle my order. The store front is warm and inviting. Your eyes will light up the minute you walk in, from seeing those cupcakes. However, I would have to say the cupcakes from DC are slightly better than the ones in LA, but so far, I would still say the best cupcakes you can find in LA.

Georgetown Cupcake
143 S Robertson Boulevard
Beverly Hills, CA 90048

Image

Image

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment